Friday, May 11, 2007

Catch 22- Building a Better Robot

Is Tony expected to hold his tongue in the heat of the moment? To me it seems there is a double standard. Critics say that he needs to control his emotions, yet when he does, he is also deemed wrong. He knew he had nothing good to say so he did as the adage says- he said nothing at all. He didn’t blow up or voice his disgust, he went to his hauler to cool down. So, what’s the problem? Well, it turns out that doing what everyone has been telling him to do is only right if it doesn’t interfere with NASCAR’s agenda. Tony not giving the world another reason to exploit him, broke the rules. Track forms state that the 1st-3rd place drivers, as well as the top placing rookie, are required to report to the media center to answer questions. So, I ask, what’s the deal?
Do you:
a) Want Tony to control his temper and not speak in the heat of the moment?
b) Say that to sound “PC” and hope he’ll explode into a ratings bonanza?
c) Urge Tony to do whatever he feels works toward accomplishing this goal, while adding the clause,” as long as it doesn’t affect our agenda”?
d) Want to write Tony a script so that he can become the “Perfect Image” that you try to turn everyone into?
e) Just want to make as much money as possible of him, only to abandon or chastise him for being real?
Tony’s temper has been a topic of discussion for years, yet I wonder how many really want him to change. All of the “this makes our sport look bad” and the “we will not tolerate conduct such as this” speeches in the world all boil down to one thing- ratings. If it’s being discussed it’s because of ratings. Press conferences and media reports are based on what they think will keep you glued to the source. There is good, but when it’s bad, it’s a gold mine.
Tony is trying to control any extremes, but he cannot be expected to stop being human. Every driver has moments when anger in the moment rules, some more than others. Words spoken in anger only show that you are human and that you have passion. Anger only becomes a true problem when it turns to rage.
Tony’s anger turned to rage so much so that he almost lost his team. He seemed to hold it all in (instead of letting off steam in the moment) until the pressure cooker would explode in extreme ways. With what you may call an “intervention” and a lot of support, Tony learned to control his rage and not let the anger build. He began to let it out so that it would not control him.
Tony stayed real. Right or wrong, he spoke his mind. He may have made a fool of himself at times, but at least he didn’t smile for the camera and give a pre-recorded message. Does he “run his head”? Yes, that’s Tony, hell that’s everyone. No one is perfect, some just need to learn to accept a person for who they really are or quit pretending to know who they are. You can’t like someone just for the attributes you choose.
Still, Tony’s attempts to voice his opinion were dissected and used to stir controversy, which goes to ratings, again. So, recently Tony tried what everyone has been touting as a cure, he dodged the bullets and went to cool off. Last week, however, dodging the bullet ended up getting him shot. A 6a.m. spanking, probation for the rest of the season, and a $10,000 fine is how Tony was rewarded for trying to stay away from trouble.
I accept Tony for all that he is, good and bad. I may not agree with all of his opinions, but I still respect his right to speak his mind. Tony has every right to criticize NASCAR, it’s called freedom of speech. It was stated that the “Live” show comments Tony made had nothing to do with the fine and probation, but that NASCAR could’ve penalized him for his remarks if they had chosen to do so. So now I guess the drivers will have to censor their remarks to make sure Hitler doesn’t get offended.
Whether remarks are right or wrong, if NASCAR is allowed to penalize anyone for comments about them, I will abandon the sport. I have long joked about Nazi rule in NASCAR, but this is no longer funny. We are now talking about freedom of speech. I understand that NASCAR feels it must protect its image, ha,ha, but everyone takes jabs at sanctioning bodies, it’s our right. NASCAR, like Tony, will never please everyone, but they cannot afford to alienate the real fans. It is NASCAR’s right to dictate and to contradict, but if they continue to act as if they have the right to rule every aspect of a drivers life, they will not only lose fans, but good drivers as well. To NASCAR I say leave the censorship to the FCC and worry about your own dictatorship.
Whispers of a split, as in Sprint car, have been slowly making rounds. I don’t think splitting up is a good idea, but NASCAR needs a wake up call. They need to be shown that theirs is not the indestructible monopoly they seem to believe it is. A new body may not survive, but it may, at least, make a point and possibly cause the world to question NASCAR’s true motives and agenda. Who knows, with the right people, a new league could blow NASCAR out of the water. Of course, this is all speculation. A second league would not be easy to form, and the Nazi’s have a lot of pull that could cause severe problems for an upstart rival. For those who do not think beyond the drivers consider this- NASCAR holds so many cards, the tracks, the tires, the manufacturers, the sponsors. NASCAR could black list and threaten enough to halt any attempts. On the other hand, those who NASCAR has shunned could join together and make it work, if they were willing to put up the money, time, and work without a big payout right away. If enough people, companies, and other entities really want to make a change it would have to be for the right reasons, because it would take time for the money to make it worth it. Is it possible? Yes. Probable? No, but just the fact that it has been whispered about must have NASCAR wondering.
NASCAR preaches give and take at every driver meeting, it is time they stop being hypocrites and practice what they preach. NASCAR needs to limit their obsession with trying to control every aspect of the participant’s lives. If NASCAR wants teams and drivers to be perfect and under their control, they need to replace everyone with robots.
My Open Wheel Thorn (Robin Miller) said it best when he said NASCAR gave Tony Stewart a frontal lobotomy. Robin’s remarks Sunday on the Speed Channel showed, once more, why I love this man. He says how it is, whether you like it or not. I lovingly refer to him as my “Open Wheel Thorn” because he is good at being a thorn in my side, by making me accept the facts. He is not NASCAR’s biggest fan, but he doesn’t speak from his rear. I started watching him every chance I got because he was critical. He made me mad, but he made a point. He, as I strive to do, tries to make you mad so that you’ll learn something or do something to change the problem. I do not always agree with Robin, but with him it is an intelligent disagreement that sometimes ends with both sides learning something. Over the years, Robin’s remarks have made for some damn good discussions, even when they end in stalemate, he accomplishes what should be accomplished- various opinions being discussed and argued intelligently, instead of being argued out of ignorance.
So, my toast is to my “Open Wheel Thorn”. Robin, I don’t always agree, but I always respect your opinion. My Guru’s (Jeff Hammond and Dave Despain) will have to excuse me, but in my quest to be a good reporter, you are what I strive to be. I want to be the thorn that gets people talking intelligently, who makes others get involved in a discussion, instead of an argument.
And to Tony, controlling your temper can be a good thing, but remember how you felt when you held it in. Be you, even if that means coming down with a case of hoof’n’mouth disease occasionally, it is what makes you human, and makes us feel like we’re not so different from you. P.S. Cindi told me how great you were, thanks for helping make her dream come true.
TO NASCAR: I am getting up at 5:30 so that I can report to the office, where I will, in no uncertain terms, remind myself that my life does not belong to me. I will then fine myself $10,000 and put myself on probation for the rest of the season. After I am through with my spanking, I will see if Robin will join me in contemplating how the sport of NASCAR will survive when the only one’s left watching are the idiots who like to litter our tracks with trash (literally and figuratively) and don’t care about the facts.

P.S. If you want to learn a little about who Tony is when he’s not in the heat of the moment, please check out Southern Cindi’s blogs about her experience with Smoke. For links and to see her pics and graphics visit the Southern Cindi pages at my site, WFO Racing Fans.

Thursday, March 15, 2007

WFO Racing Fans- The Site

If you are a blogger and would like a new way to draw attention to your blog, visit the WFO Racing Fans page. We are currently in the construction process, but will be adding more as we go. We plan to feature links to blogs that our staff find interesting, we will also feature one blogger a month with a special spot. We are also looking for original photos for use on the site. Get in on the action. This is not a blog site, we just want to allow bloggers another way to get their blog spaces noticed.

Friday, February 9, 2007

Jr.'s Future
I promised that I would do a full article on different scenarios of Dale Earnhardt Jr.'s future, then I realized that, to list them all, I would have to make an encyclopedia set. I tried to find out what seem to be the most popular theories and rumors, of course this is all speculation, he could just retire! (Relax Jr. fans, it's a joke.)
Let's begin with the one that has all Earnhardt fans (Sr. and Jr.) saying their bedtime prayers- Jr. leaves his fathers company to drive his fathers #3 for RCR. I guess the #1 question would be- is Richard Childress even willing to bring the #3 out of retirement? I think recent comments point towards no. Retiring the #3 was Richards tribute to Dale, it showed respect and I don't know if he will ever put it on the track again. Would Richard look at this as something Dale Sr. would have wanted? What about putting him in the #33? Is Richard even interested in Jr.? Is Jr. even interested? Only time will tell.
Another scenario that has Jr. fans drooling is that he will break away and start a Nextel team of his own. Although Jr. informed us that he is," just a millionaire", this is feasible, just highly unlikely. Jr. has the contacts and the sponsors to start a team, but does he have the time? Nextel Cup is a whole different story for a team owner. His other teams and commitments aside, what about his personal life? He already is stretching himself. If Jr. owned a Nextel team, would his driving begin to suffer? I believe, if he had the right people around him, he could do this, but they'd have to start now. Money could prove to be a problem, too, a new team, even with the name, isn't exactly a sure thing and sponsors may shy away. Would Jr. be willing to put a hell of a lot of money up in the beginning? Would others? Only time will tell.
Now to DEI. In the wishful thinking category, we have Jr. taking over at DEI, not going to happen. I have addressed this possibility before, I believe it's a bad idea and I don't think that's what Jr. really wants. Jr. really is DEI, though, (the company was built up around him) and he deserves to have a share of it. Does he want to take over? I doubt that. Does he want a fair share in ownership of a dynasty that his father always said would be his legacy to Jr.? Yes. This leads us to the "renewal zone". Will Theresa and Jr. be able to reach an agreement on a new contract? This is the one question that all the speculation hangs on. Unless Jr. announces other plans at the same time he answers this, the answer will either stop the rumors or create a thousand more. I voiced my reservations about the stability of DEI in Critical Condition, and, with the new CEO, I will have to re-evaluate them this year, but I wonder if it might be in Jr.'s best interest to get out while he can.
And- what about Budweiser? World wide, the most recognized active car is the #8 Budweiser car. We really have no idea what they're going to do. Will they stand behind their driver and the image they have created with him? Will they stand behind the company that made that image possible? So many questions, so little answers.
With so many factors that can affect the possible outcomes, we really cannot possibly guess the exact way it will end, but I, personally, think he will renew with DEI. Again, only time will tell.
Update:
Dale Jr. has made a public statement that he will not re-sign with DEI unless he gets a 51% ownership of the company. I know he's good, but is he asking for too much? i'm not touching that with a 8 foot pole. Also, the best quote about the DEI situation came from an odd source- Tony Stewart. Tony is quoted as saying, "What's DEI without Dale Jr.? A museum." He's got a point. I only see this situation deteriorating as it goes on, now I'm starting to think this re-signing may not happen. For now the speculation continues. Stay tuned for further details as they become available. (This will become a popular phrase when it comes to Jr.)

Wednesday, January 31, 2007

If you'd like to see more of my blogs go to- community.foxsports.com/blogs/kcjsmoket20

Seeing20twenty

‘The Jimmie Factor’

The pressure didn’t lift at homestead. Well it may have momentarily, but the real pressure starts now. The ‘repeat factor’ is a constant pressure point for a champion. Fans tend to grade drivers on a, “What have you done for me lately?”, scale. This scale puts pressure on drivers every race, but, when you’re the champ, this pressure becomes more intense. Sometimes the biggest pressure is from within. With so much to do, so many opinions flying, so little time, how does a Cup Champion stay focused? A few will tell you they couldn’t, some will even admit to questioning themselves. It is a mental game that all drivers deal with, but for a Cup Champion the ‘repeat factor’ is a pressure that rarely ends in victory.
In the history of Cup Series racing, there have been only 9 drivers who have managed to beat the ‘repeat factor’. Buck Baker became the first driver to beat the odds when he won back to back championships in 1956 and 1957. Lee petty, not to be outdone, took the 1958 and 1959 championships to even the score. Joe Weatherly (1962/1963 Cup Champion) and David Pearson (1968/1969 Cup Champion) were also able to accomplish this feat. Then came, ‘The King’. Of course he hadn’t been enthroned yet, but he made his mark with back to back Cup Championships in 1971 and 1972. In 1975, Richard Petty became the first driver to capture a second back to back title. Richard had managed to win 4 titles in 5 years. Dale Earnhardt Sr. finally matched this feat in 1994, taking the Cup Championship for the fourth time in five years, but he topped ‘The King’ by grabbing his third back to back in only 9 years. (1986/1987, 1990/1991, 1993/1994) In between ‘The King’ and ‘The Intimidator’, one man was able to totally defy odds and accomplish what no other driver has been able to- a ‘three-peat’. Cal Yarborough is the only driver to successfully defend his title 2 years in a row. His back to backs in 1976 and 1977 became history with the third championship in 1978. Two other drivers delivered single back to backs, Darrell Waltrip in 1981/1982 and Jeff Gordon in 1997/1998.
So, where does this leave Jimmie? I believe this team has a chance, if changes by the sanctioning body don’t totally turn them upside down. I am not a Jimmie Johnson fan, but I can’t think of one reason to dislike him, at least not without being a hypocrite. He’s the perfect ‘poster boy’ for our sport. Most who say they don’t like him wind up saying it’s because he’s, “Gordon’s pet”. People, do you watch the races? Jimmie Johnson has proven over and over that he is his own driver. He is on fire and so is his crew. If this team can keep it together, I truly believe they will win multiple Cup Championships.
To Jimmie I can only say- never question yourself. I know this is easier said than done, but you can’t expect others to have confidence in you if you don’t have it yourself. Keep in mind that other factors that are not in your control can ruin the outcome too. You are your own worst enemy or your own best friend and it all depends on one thing- how you handle the pressure.

kcjsmoket20's Blog - FOX Sports Blogs

kcjsmoket20's Blog - FOX Sports Blogs